Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Dear NFRW Member,

This is a difficult day for each one of us. When you pour your heart, soul and mind – every ounce of your being – into something, only to have it return void, it is indescribable.

But one aspect of this election makes me extremely proud, and that is your level of participation. This year, Republican women stepped up to a degree that I have never before seen. Your efforts in the presidential election, as well as in your state and local elections, are unprecedented, and what you did matters.

So even though we are going through a sort of grieving process today, please know that I truly appreciate each and every one of you, and that I couldn't be prouder.

Now, a quick report on our Republican women candidates. A few of their races are still too close to call, but here is what we know so far:

New Republican women elected to federal or statewide office:
Deb Fischer of Nebraska, U.S. Senate
Jackie Walorski of Indiana, U.S. House
Ann Wagner of Missouri, U.S. House
Susan Bitter Smith of Arizona, Corporation Commissioner
Sue Ellspermann of Indiana, Lt. Governor
Kirsten Baesler of North Dakota, Superintendent of Public Instruction
Christi Craddick of Texas, Railroad Commissioner

Races too close to call:
Martha McSally of Arizona, U.S. House
Sandy Welch of Montana, Superintendent of Public Instruction
Kim Wyman of Washington, Secretary of State

Incumbents who lost their races:
Mary Bono Mack of California, U.S. House
Judy Biggert of Illinois, U.S. House
Ann Marie Buerkle of New York, U.S. House
Nan Hayworth of New York, U.S. House

Thank you again for your outstanding work on behalf of our Republican candidates.

God Bless You,
Rae Lynne Chornenky
National Federation of Republican Women